New things at the end of the year.

I don’t know why I think of the year as over.

Six weeks left. I guess in the middle of February one is tempted to think that the year has not yet started. Or something like that. So, if you lob off six weeks at the beginning of the year and six weeks at the end, technically, the year is only nine months long. This is not the approach of highly efficient people, I suspect. I remember that I used to be one of those people, who started the year at great speed on the 2nd of January.  I was one of those people even this year, actually, which might explain why I have run out of steam a little, in spite of a gluttonous and lazy week in Zanzibar in September.

Was that enough of a break? Shit, no. Never mind about taking the day off, I should go on holiday straight away. I could start by staying in bed until after nine, for example.

Which I did, as nine has come and gone some time ago, and here I still am. Mostly I am playing on the internet. It has now reached very reasonable speeds and is delivered by my new wireless ADSL router instead of Mweb’s ridiculous little 3G dongle that did nothing but frustrate and disappoint me. I am about to trot off to the Sandton Checkers to go and RICA that mostly useless little sim card and give my former service provider a month’s notice. Yay.

I have a new email address. It took me some time to set it up, being of solid technopeasant stock, but with a little help from my friends I have now migrated to my own domain, and have what Bridge calls a “hot” email address. Double yay. I sent an email to folk who I wanted to share this address with, and Isserow wrote back saying I misspelt “address” (sic).  Well, I am not perfect. Yay for that as well.

And now it is time to meet the day.

 

Leave a Reply

