Snippets: Snor City

I am sitting in the News Cafe on the corner of Gerhard and Jean roads in Centurion, at eight in the morning, and I am experiencing a profound insight into the James Philips concept of  “Snor City”. This may not be Pretoria, but it is close enough, I think. There are other statistics:

1. Most tables are occupied by pairs of white men, apparently talking business.

2. A high percentage of these men (ok, not HIGH, but at least 10%) are wearing camouflage bush gear and army boots.

About the food: they have a very odd practice here of serving poached egg on health bread that has been cut into a round shape with a cookie cutter to be the same size as the egg. They don’t give you butter. Just the eggs on this very dry, dark, round pieces of bread. I wondered if their chef takes his health breakfast very seriously. Butter is not bad for you, you know. It helps the body to absorb vitamins A and D, which are fat-soluble.

Anybody that has cooked from the Cordon Bleu at Home will know that the French do not flinch in the face of butter, and we all know that French women are not fat.

And that’s all for now. I am spending the day at the GPSSBC (I am getting so good with the abbreviations now, they just roll off my tongue) doing interviews.  I think it is going to be interesting, and that I am going to get a lot done. It is a lovely day.

7 thoughts on “Snippets: Snor City

  1. Hardspear 7 October 2009 / 17:02

    Oh, I believe butter has quite the effect of the best anti-depressant medication available on the market. Butter on my tongue is instant happiness.

    I love the taste of butter, I love the way it deepens the flavour of anything savoury, how it makes your baking lighter and crisper, yet more moist. There is to no extent any substitute available for butter.

    Butter & sunshine. That is what makes me happy.

  2. Boris 8 October 2009 / 10:39

    I concur – eating butter substitutes is like ingesting plastic. Bungs you up totally. Butter at least can be digested and it lessens cravings for other rubbish… like sweeties for instance.
    …and if I may, your body is the envy of many women half your age, so shall I add another dollop darling? 😉

  3. Betty Noire 9 October 2009 / 12:59

    Are you flirting with me on my blog? Is that allowed?

  4. Spear The Almighty 15 October 2009 / 10:23

    It is the choclates and beer that is getting me. I’ll give butter the benefit of the doubt. 🙂

  5. Craig 27 October 2009 / 16:32

    It’s the pies damn it. Those warm, crispy little devils get me every time…

    • Betty Noire 29 October 2009 / 13:13

      I am such a fan of pies. The smell of buttery pastry is so…. inspiring.

  6. Boris 29 October 2009 / 10:49

    hehehehe – oh yeah. Sure.

Leave a Reply

