My feet, and sanguine.

feet 2

I am trying to lighten up. HG suggested at Tim’s wedding that going blonde might not be enought to achieve this, and I think I have been particularly dark since then. This morning I had a very depressing discussion with Russell about the judiciary, and although the John Hlope show is nothing to smile about,  it occurred to me that, generally, I have been negative lately. Someone called  the blog “attractively curmudgeonly” (I know, that is not an adjective, but that’s how I remember it) and I although I was flattered, the comment added to the feeling that perhaps I really should try and look more on the bright side, drink from the half full glass, and find the silver lining.

So I am sharing a funny story about ‘sanguine’ that Ruth sent me:

From: Barbara Jungbauer
Subject: Re: A.Word.A.Day–
sanguine
Def: 1. Cheerfully optimistic or confident. 2. Having a healthy reddish color. 3. Blood-red.

For eight or so years now, I’ve not been able to hear the word ‘sanguine’ without thinking of this exchange in my very favorite program of all time, a short-lived science-fiction, western, adventure, comedy program called, “Firefly”.

Zoë: You sanguine about the kinda reception we’re apt to receive on an Alliance ship, Captain?
Mal: Absolutely. What’s “sanguine” mean?
Zoë: Sanguine. Hopeful. Plus, point of interest, it also means “bloody”.
Mal: Well, that pretty much covers all the options, don’t it?

I think that is a wonderful cue for the next few days. 

(Don’t ask about the feet.)

One thought on “My feet, and sanguine.

  1. sartres 25 June 2009 / 20:09

    i ask not, i tell; such great footwork. great mind; great space; great heart. great purpose. life is good.

Leave a Reply

